News by email Donate


Top Stories

Most Read

Popular Videos

Church of England
Church of England
World News

How each Church of England bishop voted on same-sex blessings proposals during General Synod

by Premier Journalist

The Church of England has released the voting details of all General Synod members, including those involved in the Living in Love and Faith debate.

Following a vote by all Houses, the proposals passed after achieving a majority in all three houses, which form the Church of England’s legislative body: the House of Bishops, the House of Clergy and the House of Laity.

You can find below how the House of Bishops voted:

Bishops in favour

Archbishop of Canterbury – Most Rev Justin Welby

Archbishop of York – Most Rev Stephen Cottrell

Bishop of Carlisle – Rt Rev James Newcome

Bishop of Chelmsford - Rt Rev Guli Francis-Dehqani

Bishop of Chester – Rt Rev Mark Tanner

Bishop of Chichester – Rt Rev Martin Warner

Bishop of Derby – Rt Rev Libby Lane

Bishop of Ely – Rt Rev Stephen Conway

Bishop of Gloucester – Rt Rev Rachel Treweek

Bishop of Hereford – Rt Rev Richard Jackson

Bishop of Leeds – Rt Rev Nick Baines

Bishop of Leicester – Rt Rev Martyn Snow

Bishop of Lichfield – Rt Rev Michael Ipgrave

Bishop of Liverpool – Rt Rev John Perumbalath

Bishop of Manchester – Rt Rev David Walker

Bishop of Newcastle – Rt Rev Helen-Ann Hartley

Bishop of Norwich – Rt Rev Graham Usher

Bishop of London – Rt Rev Sarah Mullally

Bishop of Oxford – Rt Rev Steven Croft

Bishop of Portsmouth – Rt Rev Jonathan Frost

Bishop of Rochester – Rt Rev Jonathan Gibbs

Bishop of St Albans – Rt Rev Alan Smith

Bishop of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich – Rt Rev Martin Seeley

Bishop of Salisbury – Rt Rev Stephen Lake

Bishop of Sheffield – Rt Rev Pete Wilcox

Bishop of Southwark – Rt Rev Christopher Chessun

Bishop of Durham – Rt Rev Paul Butler

Bishop of Truro – Rt Rev Philip Mounstephen

Bishop of Worcester – Rt Rev John Inge

Bishop of St Germans – Rt Rev Hugh Nelson

Bishop of Woolwich – Rt Rev Karowei Dorgu

Bishop of Dudley – Rt Rev Martin Gorick

Bishop of Reading – Rt Rev Olivia Graham

Bishop of Warrington – Rt Rev Bev Mason

Bishop of Bath and Wells – Rt Rev Michael Beasley

Bishop of Bristol – Rt Rev Vivienne Faull

Bishops against

Bishop of Guildford – Rt Rev Andrew Watson

Bishop of Southwell and Nottingham – Rt Rev Paul Williams

Bishop of Islington – Rt Rev Ric Thorpe

Bishop of Lancaster – Rt Rev Jill Duff

Bishops who abstained

Bishop of Coventry - Rt Rev Christopher Cocksworth 

Bishop of Blackburn - Rt Rev Philip North 

A Monthly Gift Of $11 Makes A World Of Difference

In a world of fake news there’s never been a greater need for quality Christian journalism. Premier’s mission is to provide the Church with the most up to date and relevant news, told from a Christian perspective. But we can’t do it without you.

Unlike many websites we haven't put up a paywall — we want to keep our journalism free at the point of need and as open as we can. Premier’s news output takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. No one in the USA is sharing news like we are across radio, magazines and online so please help us to continue that today.

For a monthly gift of $11 or more we’d also be able to send you a free copy of the brand new Premier Bible, a wonderful Anglicised version of the NLT packed with exclusive bonus content, reading plan and resources to help you get the most out of scripture.

Your monthly support will make a world of difference. Thank you.

Support Us
Continue the conversation on our Facebook page

Related Articles

Sign up to our newsletter to stay informed with news from a Christian perspective.

News by email